Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

And in my spare time I read:

enfinblue
pennyjar
smartypants
ladyloo
harri3tspy
teranika
stepfordtart

2007-06-03 - 10:22 p.m.

The Silly Things We Say...

Sometimes the most entertaining experiences of my life are the things I say to my children.

There was a wonderful open air concert held in the park around the corner from us, and the children and I brought a blanket and some food and sat in the sun listening to the music. Free flags to wave, balloons - it was great. Standing in the long line for the obligatory bathroom break with Nicole, and I say "I'll hold your ice-cream while you go in." "Why, Mummy?" "Because you can't go to the toilet and eat an ice-cream at the same time."

Giggles everywhere. haha.

Then when I thought everyone was in bed, the 10 year old comes down with a bloody tissue, and announces that he has successfully removed a tooth. Said tooth was not loose or anything. He just decided it had been in his mouth long enough, and I suppose it must have a big tooth underneath it to allow him to twist it out, but REALLY. As he is proudly going back upstairs, I call after him, "Go to bed, and DON'T pull out any more of your teeth!"

How ridiculous is that? Many people advise mothers of toddlers to make a record of the adorable things they say as they are coming to grips with language and grammar. Perhaps I should keep a record of the remarkable things I say. The only one I can remember from years ago, I didn't even say.

Ben, the toothpuller, was about 2 and had a worrying habit of trying to climb in the tumble dryer. Not dangerous as he was the only child at that time (no possibility of dryer being turned on) but still a habit to be discouraged. One day, I was too everything'd to take any more and I rang my husband at work and announced that he would have to talk to Ben. (I no longer do this sort of thing, but I was a baby mom). Not realizing that my husband was in a meeting and I was on speakerphone. Oops. Darling man that he is, he said to Ben and the whole meeting, "Do as your mother says. Take your head OUT of the tumble dryer."

I can't even imagine how much teasing he got at work...

leave a note

holidays 2010.... - 2010-12-26
Goodbye to Sandy - 2010-08-30
...France... - 2010-08-30
definitely not a technohead - 2010-06-08
it's a house, it's a laptop, it's a guinea pig! - 2010-06-01

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
  your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!