Get your own
   diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

And in my spare time I read:

enfinblue
pennyjar
smartypants
ladyloo
harri3tspy
teranika
stepfordtart

2010-06-01 - 9:12 p.m.

it's a house, it's a laptop, it's a guinea pig!

Well I am really feeling like I almost belong in this century. I am sitting at my kitchen table typing online. Yes. We actually have a) more than one computer in our house and b) wireless. It is hard to know which of these things is more remarkable. I am after all the child of parents who refused to have an answering machine the whole time I was growing up, or a remote control, and who still do not have a microwave oven.

But it is pretty amazing. We may actually even buy ANOTHER laptop as Ben is starting his GCSEs next year and needs his own - Sam starts secondary school as well and can share my laptop.

More importantly we have decided that the way to filial peace in our family is to give each child his own outside space. The SHED from last year has a pool table in it, and as such has provided numerous occasions for the brothers to stop murdering each other and play pool. Last weekend, we build a wooden wendy house for Nicole. Now Sam has to ask if he can play shops in the wendy house and Nicole has to ask if she can play pool. This works well because at the moment she is too short to play pool, and by the time she is tall enough, the wendy house will have become more of a club house anyway.

Long suffering husband still needs to put electricity and some heat down in the shed, and then it will be grand. We have taken over the ownership of what used to be playhouse and (before the freezing end of May/beginning of June) rain came in were in the process of painting it prior to construction. But when it is up it will be just for ME to sit in and read books, drink Pimms or margaritas, eat ice cream. I plan on having a lock. HA!

It is only halfway through half-term as well. Yikes.

But wait. Did I mention that our guinea pig has had surgery? Yes she has. She had some nasty tumour the size of a large golf ball and has only just had her stitches removed. This surgery cost the same as a flotilla of guinea pigs but hey ho we had to give her a chance. She is very skinny now, from being hugely fat (although that could have been the tumour) but is eating and it seems as though she may survive. The other one was very quiet when she was on her own, so maybe they are not quite as stupid as I have always thought.

Maybe. We aren't talking cats and dogs here. Anyway, I think my vet will be having a nice holiday this year.

Next week teranika and her family are coming to stay with me YAY YAY that's a big muppet WAAAAAAAA Applause Applause!!! I am very excited, Nicole is excited, the boys are excited, I even think my in-laws are excited. We all love teranika, k, k and k!!!

x

leave a note

holidays 2010.... - 2010-12-26
Goodbye to Sandy - 2010-08-30
...France... - 2010-08-30
definitely not a technohead - 2010-06-08
it's a house, it's a laptop, it's a guinea pig! - 2010-06-01

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
  your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!